Central Plateau

The North Island Volcanic Plateau (often named the Central Plateau) is a volcanic plateau covering the centre of the North Island with crater lakes, volcanoes and lava plateaus. Three main mountains stand on the plateau. These are Mt Ruapehu, Mt Ngauruhoe and Mt Tongariro. The area is a great wilderness to drive through and stop to take photos, but watch out for snow in the winter months!

Showing 1 - 1 of 1